Your IP address is

Board Of Directors

 group_addblockedAFRINIC operations are overseen by a Board of Directors (BoD) which is elected by members on a regional representation basis as defined by Article 13 of the bylaws. Once appointed to the BoD, each director represents and works for the whole region and not just for the sub-region seat they were elected into.

The Board of Directors holds an Annual General Members Meeting (AGMM) during the first public policy meeting of each year.

Some of the responsibilities of the Board as described in Article 15 of the current bylaws are:

  • Determine the guidelines for the allocation of address space for Members
  • Consider broad Internet policy issues in order to ensure that the policies and strategies of the company fully respond to the changing Internet environment
  • Determine a financial budget for the activities of the Company for a given period
  • Establish a ceiling for expenditures for a given period and from time to time to vary such ceiling as they deem fit
  • Fill any casual vacancy in the office of the auditor of the Company
  • Provide any general directives to the Chief Executive Officer regarding the staffing of the Company
  • Determine the conditions of employment of the employees of the Company who are employed at an Executive level
  • Reduce or waive fees payable by any person to the Company, or to amend in any manner whatsoever the conditions relating to the payment thereof
  • Appoint or remove the secretary of the Company and to determine the remuneration payable to such secretary
  • Appoint such committees for such reasons and with such terms of reference as they shall consider necessary or desirable.





Seat Number Name Country Region From To
Seat 1 Haitham Z. El Nakhal
Egypt Northern Africa 1st July 2016 30th June 2019
Seat 2 Sunday Folayan (Chair) Nigeria Western Africa 1st July 2016 30th June 2019
Seat 3 Subramanian Moonesamy Mauritius Indian Ocean 1st July 2017 30th June 2020
Seat 4 Christian D. Bope DRC Congo Central Africa 1st July 2017 30th June 2020
Seat 5 Lucky Masilela South Africa Southern Africa 1st July 2015 30th June 2018
Seat 6 Abibu Rashid Ntahigiye Eastern Africa Eastern Africa 1st July 2015 30th June 2018
Seat 7 Seun Ojedeji Nigeria Non-Regional Africa 1st July 2016 30th June 2019
Seat 8 Serge Illunga DRC Congo Non-Regional Africa 1st July 2017 30th June 2020
Seat 9 Alan Barrett - Appointed CEO of AFRINIC


AFRINIC Board Committees | Previous BOD Members


Go up

AFRINIC Factsheets

AFRINIC Factsheet IPv6 Factsheet Policies Factsheet
afrinic factsheet ipv6 factsheet policies factsheet