Info! Please note that this translation has been provided as best effort, for your convenience. The English page remains the official version.

العواقب غير المقصودة لنشر الكابلات البحرية على توجيه الإنترنت

تاريخ النشر
طباعة ودية، بدف والبريد الإلكتروني
العواقب غير المقصودة لنشر الكابلات البحرية على توجيه الإنترنت

 

 

أكياس 1كاتب مُشارك: CAIDA's رودريك فانو، باحث ما بعد الدكتوراه؛ ريكي موكعالم أبحاث مساعد. برادلي هافكر، المدير الفني؛ و كيه سي كلافي، المؤسس والمدير.

تشمل البنية التحتية المادية الأساسية للإنترنت أ عيون من الكابلات البحرية ، مشتركة بشكل عام بواسطة مشغلي الشبكات الذين يشترون السعة من مالكي الكابلات.

اعتبارًا من أواخر عام 2020 ، انتهى 400 الكابلات البحرية القارات المترابطة في جميع أنحاء العالم وشكلت العمود الفقري المحيطي للإنترنت. على الرغم من أنها تحمل أكثر من 99 ٪ من حركة المرور الدولية ، إلا أن القليل من البحث الأكاديمي قد حدث لعزل تغييرات الأداء من طرف إلى طرف الناتجة عن إطلاقها.

من المفترض عمومًا أن نشر الكابلات تحت البحر يحسن الأداء ، على الأقل بالنسبة للاقتصاديات حول الكبل. ولكن إلى أي مدى ، وماذا يحدث لحركة المرور من وإلى الاقتصادات المجاورة؟

لدراسة هذا ، نظرنا إلى نظام كابلات جنوب المحيط الأطلسي (SACS)، الذي تم إطلاقه في منتصف سبتمبر 2018. كان أول كابل عبر الأطلسي يعبر نصف الكرة الجنوبي ويوفر فرصة مثالية لفحص ما حدث لحركة المرور بين مناطق الإنترنت المختلفة قبل وبعد الإطلاق.

أكياس 2الشكل 1 - تُظهر هذه الصورة شبكة أنجولا للكابلات ، والتي تتضمن كبل SACS. يمتد الكابل لمسافة 6,165 كم وبسعة 40 تيرا بايت في الثانية و 4 أزواج من الألياف (المصدر: كابلات أنغولا)يربط SACS أنغولا في إفريقيا بالبرازيل في أمريكا الجنوبية. في ورقتنا ،عواقب غير مقصودة: آثار نشر الكابلات البحرية على توجيه الإنترنت، قمنا بإلقاء الضوء التجريبي على كيفية تأثيرها على أنماط حركة المرور ، من خلال التحقيق في التأثير التشغيلي لنظام SACS على توجيه الإنترنت. في العام الماضي ، قدمنا ​​نتائجنا في مؤتمر القياس السلبي والنشط (PAM) 2020، حيث حصل على جائزة "أفضل ورقة".

هنا ، نلخص مساهمات دراستنا ، بما في ذلك منهجيتنا ، وبعض النتائج.

 

كيف قمنا بقياس التغيير في الأداء؟

تحدد منهجيتنا تغييرات أداء الاتصال من طرف إلى طرف من نشر كبل بحري جديد على مسارات الإنترنت.

نهجنا يعتمد على القائمة الخرائط / قواعد البيانات تحت سطح البحر والعامة قياس البنية التحتية.

طريقتنا من أربع خطوات:

  1. اجمع مسارات IP المرشحة التي يمكن أن تكون قد عبرت الكبل
  2. حدد واجهات IP الخاصة بالموجه على جانبي الكبل بناءً على مسارات IP المرشحة هذه
  3. ابحث عن المسارات المقابلة (بين أزواج نقاط النهاية نفسها) في مجموعات بيانات traceroute التاريخية
  4. علق المسارات المجمّعة بالمعلومات الضرورية للتحليل مثل أسماء المضيف و ASes والمواقع الجغرافية لبروتوكول الإنترنت واختلافات وقت الذهاب والإياب (RTTs) بين القفزات المتتالية

 

جمع مسارات IP المرشحة

يعد تحديد مسارات الإنترنت التي تمر عبر كبل تم نشره حديثًا أمرًا صعبًا للغاية. لتحديد عناوين IP بدقة على جانبي الكبل ، نحتاج إلى عينات من مسارات IP التي تعبرها في كلا الاتجاهين ، والتي يمكننا الحصول عليها عن طريق إجراء القياسات بعد إطلاق الكابل.

تتضمن خطوتنا الأولى تنفيذ مسارات التتبع ، في كلا الاتجاهين ، بين نقاط الأفضلية (VPs) الموجودة داخل شبكتين ، يُشار إليهما AS1 و AS2 ، والتي تقترب طوبولوجيًا من طرفي الكابل.

من هذا ، نحصل على مسارات IP مرشحة تحتوي على عناوين IP لأجهزة التوجيه التي تم اجتيازها بواسطة حزم من AS1 إلى AS2 أو العكس عبر الكبل بالإضافة إلى أوقات الذهاب والإياب (RTT) من عناوين IP المصدر المعنية لكل منها. اخترنا الشبكات التي تستضيف النقاط المتميزة (VPs) بالإضافة إلى نواب الرئيس النشطين داخل تلك الشبكات ، باستخدام منصات القياس الحالية (سفينة CAIDA و RIPE أطلس) و متاح للعامة قواعد بيانات الكابلات البحرية / الخرائط.

 

تحديد واجهات جهاز التوجيه على طرفي الكبل

باستخدام سرعة الضوء والطول المعروف للكابل ، تمكنا من استنتاج الحد الأدنى من RTT لعبور الكابل. أعطانا هذا حدًا يمكننا استخدامه لتضييق مسارات IP المرشحة ، وإيجاد مسارات متطابقة تحتوي على نتوءات RTT أكبر أو تساوي الحد الأدنى المستنتج.

لقد بحثنا عن الحالات التي تكون فيها مواقع واجهات IP تلك ، وفقًا لقواعد بيانات تحديد الموقع الجغرافي عدم الدقة و MaxMind في، تطابق البلدان المرتبطة بالكابل البحري الجديد. بعد ذلك ، استنتجنا مطابقة أزواج من عناوين IP المحتملة على كل جانب من الكبل وبحثنا عن الأسماء المستعارة للموجه لعناوين IP تلك.

 

البحث عن المسارات المقابلة في مجموعات بيانات مسار التتبع التاريخية

استخدام منصات القياس الحالية RIPE أطلس و سفينة CAIDA، بحثنا عن مسارات التتبع التاريخية التي تحتوي على أي من الأزواج المحددة مفصولة بنقطة RTT ، أكبر أو تساوي الحد الأدنى المطلوب لعبور الكبل المدروس. ثم قمنا بتجميعها في مجموعتين ، اعتمادًا على ما إذا تم تشغيلها قبل أو بعد إطلاق الكابل.

 

شرح المسارات المجمعة بالمعلومات الضرورية للتحليل

قمنا بتعليق توضيحي لمسارات IP هذه بأسماء المضيفين و ASes والمواقع واختلافات RTT بين القفزات المتتالية.

أخيرًا ، استخدمنا ثلاثة مقاييس لتقييم الأداء الشامل ومسارات AS ، قبل وبعد إطلاق الكابل:

  • تحدد RTTs إلى قفزات IP المشتركة الأقرب إلى وجهات مسار التتبع الوقت الذي تستغرقه الحزم للانتقال من واجهة المصدر إلى عنوان IP مشترك قريب من شبكة وجهة معينة ، ويتم قياسه قبل وبعد إطلاق الكبل
  • تمثل مركزية AS للعبور AS النسبة المئوية للمسارات التي لعب فيها عامل تشغيل AS دورًا في العبور
  • طول مسارات AS التي تعبر حدث ما بعد شبكة مشغل الكبل المدروس ، والذي قارناه بطول مسارات AS التي تخدم بادئات وجهة IP المقابلة للمصدر ، قبل الحدث

 

إذن ماذا اكتشفنا؟

 

مقارنة RTTs قبل وبعد SACS

بدأنا تحليلنا بمقارنة RTTs قبل وبعد نشر SACS. بالنسبة لنفس المصدر VP وبادئة الوجهة ، قمنا ببناء مجموعة من قفزات IP الشائعة في التتبع قبل وبعد SACS ، وحددنا عنوان IP الأقرب إلى الوجهة كنقطة للمقارنة.

باستخدام RTTs من VPs نحو قفزات IP من التتبع قبل وبعد SACS ، قمنا بتخطيط المخططات الصندوقية للشكل 2 ، وقمنا بتجميع RTTs حسب القارة ومنصة القياس.

أكياس 3الشكل 2 - المخططات الصندوقية للحد الأدنى من RTTs من Ark و Atlas VPs إلى قفزات IP المشتركة الأقرب إلى عناوين IP الوجهة. يمثل الخط الأحمر لكل مخطط مربع متوسط ​​فترات RTT الدنيا هذه ؛ وضعنا علامة على المئين الخامس والسبعين والخامس والعشرين وكذلك النطاق الربيعي (IQR).

 

ما هو تأثير SACS على زمن الوصول؟

على الرغم من أن متوسط ​​زمن الوصول عبر مجموعة البيانات الكاملة للمسارات التي تعبر SACS بعد الإطلاق لم يتغير كثيرًا (متوسط ​​قطرات RTT من 2-3 مللي ثانية) ؛ يؤدي هذا إلى إخفاء الانخفاضات والزيادات الكبيرة في وقت الاستجابة عبر المسارات من / إلى مناطق محددة.

ومن المثير للاهتمام ، أن المسارات من أمريكا الجنوبية شهدت انخفاضًا متوسطًا في زمن الانتقال بنسبة 38٪ ، وهو أمر مهم جدًا مقارنة بالمسارات من أوقيانوسيا-أستراليا (انخفاض بنسبة 8٪) ، والمسارات من إفريقيا (3٪).

على المستوى الاقتصادي ، وجدنا تحسينات يمكن التنبؤ بها في الأداء (انخفاض RTT) للمسارات المتجهة من إفريقيا إلى البرازيل ، أو من أمريكا الجنوبية إلى أنغولا. ومع ذلك ، وجدنا انخفاضًا غير متماثل في RTT ؛ كان الانخفاض في متوسط ​​وقت الإرسال والاستقبال من إفريقيا إلى البرازيل (73 مللي ثانية) ثلث ذلك من أمريكا الجنوبية إلى أنغولا (226 مللي ثانية). لاحظنا أيضًا بعض تدهور الأداء غير المتوقع وغير المبلغ عنه. على سبيل المثال ، رأينا الحزم يتم توجيهها بشكل غير مثالي عبر SACS للمسارات التي تنتقل من أمريكا الشمالية إلى البرازيل أو من إفريقيا / أوروبا إلى أنغولا ، مما يؤدي إلى زيادة زمن الوصول.

 

مقارنة هيكل النقل

نحن نقدم فحصًا متعمقًا لهيكل النقل قبل وبعد SACS ، وتحليل التأثير على أطوال مسار AS ، والتحقق من صحة نتائجنا في ورقة.

 

ما هي المساهمات والنتائج الرئيسية لهذه الدراسة؟

باختصار ، يمكن سرد المساهمات الرئيسية لهذه الدراسة على النحو التالي:

  • لقد قدمنا ​​طريقة قابلة للتكرار للتحقيق في تأثير نشر الكبل على طوبولوجيا الإنترنت العيانية والأداء
  • طبقنا منهجيتنا على حالة SACS ، أول كابل عبر المحيط الأطلسي من أمريكا الجنوبية إلى إفريقيا
  • اكتشفنا أن انخفاض RTT لمسارات IP المتجهة من إفريقيا إلى البرازيل كان تقريبًا ثلث ما لوحظ على المسارات من أمريكا الجنوبية إلى أنغولا
  • علاوة على ذلك ، اكتشفنا تدهورًا مفاجئًا في الأداء من / إلى بعض المناطق وقمنا بتحليل الأسباب الجذرية لهذه النتائج غير المقصودة

من نتائج هذه الورقة ، نقترح أنه لتجنب التوجيه دون الأمثل بعد تنشيط الكابلات في المستقبل ، يمكن لـ ASes إبلاغ جيران BGP لإتاحة الوقت للتغييرات ، وضمان تكوينات iBGP المثلى بعد التنشيط ، واستخدام منصات القياس للتحقق من المسار الأمثل .

كودنا وبياناتنا هي نشرت لتسهيل التكاثر. يمكن توسيع قاعدة التعليمات البرمجية هذه لتشمل حالات استخدام الكبلات الأخرى.

 

 

تم إعادة نشر هذه المدونة من https://blog.apnic.net/2021/02/22/unintended-consequences-of-submarine-cable-deployment-on-internet-routing نُشر في 22 فبراير 2021. 

 

 


  

عن المؤلف

ص فانو 1
رودريك فانو 

بعد حصوله دكتوراه في هندسة الاتصالات تبدأ من معهد شبكات IMDEA و جامعة كارلوس الثالث بمدريد، إسبانيا في عام 2017 ، رودريك فانو، انضم CAIDA (جامعة كاليفورنيا، سان دييغو) ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية في مارس 2018 ، حيث عمل كباحث ما بعد الدكتوراه حتى مارس 2021. وأثناء إقامته ، ساهم في مهووس و بنده مشاريع جنبًا إلى جنب مع Amogh Dhamdhere (في 2018) و Kc Claffy. تضمنت أنشطته البحثية المساعدة في تصميم وتطوير تطبيقات جديدة بالإضافة إلى تكامل قواعد الرموز الموجودة التي تقيس الازدحام بين المجالات والطوبولوجيا والأداء ، لتمكين المشاريع العلمية واسعة النطاق.

الدراسة التي قدمها هذا المنشور هي إحدى نتائج تعاونه مع فريق CAIDA.  

 

 

آخر تعديل في -
التاريخ والوقت في موريشيوس -

Info! Please note that this translation has been provided as best effort, for your convenience. The English page remains the official version.

Unintended consequences of submarine cable deployment on Internet routing

Published On -
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Unintended consequences of submarine cable deployment on Internet routing

 

 

sacs 1Co-authored by CAIDA’s Roderick Fanou, Postdoctoral Scholar; Ricky Mok, Assistant Research Scientist; Bradley Huffaker, Technical Manager; and Kc Claffy, Founder and Director.

The underlying physical infrastructure of the Internet includes a mesh of submarine cables, generally shared by network operators who purchase capacity from the cable owners.

As of late 2020, over 400 submarine cables interconnected continents worldwide and constituted the oceanic backbone of the Internet. Although they carry more than 99% of international traffic, little academic research has occurred to isolate end-to-end performance changes induced by their launch.

It is generally assumed that the deployment of undersea cables improves performance, at least for economies around the cable. But by how much, and what happens to traffic from and towards neighbouring economies?

To study this, we looked at the South Atlantic Cable System (SACS), which was launched in mid-September, 2018. It was the first transatlantic cable traversing the southern hemisphere and provided an ideal opportunity to examine what happened to traffic between different Internet regions pre and post-launch.

sacs 2Figure 1 – This image shows the Angola Cables Network, which includes the SACS cable. The cable stretches for 6,165km and has a capacity of 40Tbps and 4 fibre pairs (Source: Angola Cables)SACS connects Angola in Africa to Brazil in South America. In our paper, ‘Unintended consequences: Effects of submarine cable deployment on Internet routing‘, we shed empirical light on how it affected traffic patterns, by investigating the operational impact of SACS on Internet routing. Last year, we presented our results at the Passive and Active Measurement Conference (PAM) 2020, where it was awarded ‘best paper’.

Here, we summarize the contributions of our study, including our methodology, and some findings.

 

How did we measure the change in performance?

Our methodology quantifies the end-to-end communication performance changes from a new submarine cable deployment on Internet paths.

Our approach relies on existing subsea maps/databases and public measurement infrastructures.

Our method has four steps:

  1. Collect candidate IP paths that could have crossed the cable
  2. Identify router IP interfaces on both sides of the cable based on those candidate IP paths
  3. Search for corresponding paths (between same endpoint pairs) in historical traceroute datasets
  4. Annotate collected paths with the necessary information for analysis such as hostnames, ASes, IP geolocations, and round-trip time (RTTs) differences between consecutive hops

 

Collecting candidate IP paths

Identifying which Internet paths are passing through a newly deployed cable is quite challenging. To accurately identify IPs on both sides of the cable, we need samples of IP paths crossing it in both directions, which we can obtain by running measurements after the cable launch.

Our first step involves executing, in both directions, traceroutes between vantage points (VPs) located within two networks, denoted AS1 and AS2, that are topologically close to the respective ends of the cable.

From this, we get candidate IP paths containing IP addresses of routers traversed by packets from AS1 to AS2 or vice-versa via the cable as well as the round-trip times (RTTs) from the respective source IP addresses to each of them. We selected the networks hosting vantage points (VPs) as well as the active VPs within those networks, using existing measurement platforms (CAIDA Ark and RIPE Atlas) and publicly available sea cable databases/maps.

 

Identifying router interfaces at both ends of the cable

Using the speed of light constraint and the known length of the cable, we were able to deduce the minimum RTT to cross the cable. This gave us a threshold that we could use to narrow down the candidate IP paths, finding matching traceroutes containing RTT bumps greater or equal to the inferred minimum threshold.

We looked for cases where the locations of those IP interfaces, according to geolocation databases Netacuity and Maxmind, match the countries linked by the new subsea cable. Then, we inferred matching pairs of potential IPs on each side of the cable and looked for router aliases of those IPs.

 

Searching for corresponding paths in historical traceroute datasets

Using existing measurement platforms RIPE Atlas and CAIDA Ark, we looked for historical traceroutes containing any of the identified pairs separated by an RTT bump, greater or equal to the minimum threshold needed to cross the studied cable. We then grouped them into two sets, depending on whether they were run pre or post-cable launch.

 

Annotating collected paths with the necessary information for analysis

We annotated these IP paths with hostnames, ASes, locations, and RTT differences between consecutive hops.

Finally, we used three metrics to evaluate end-to-end performance and AS paths, before and after the cable launch:

  • The RTTs to the common IP hops closest to the traceroute destinations determines the time that packets took to travel from a source interface to a common IP close to a given destination network, measured before and after the cable launch
  • The AS-centrality of transit ASes represents the percentage of paths for which an AS played a role in transit
  • The length of AS paths crossing the studied cable operator’s network post-event, which we compared to the length of the AS paths serving the corresponding source IP destination prefixes, pre-event

 

So what did we discover?

 

Comparing RTTs before and after SACS

We started our analysis by comparing RTTs before and after SACS deployment. For the same source VP and destination prefix, we built a set of common IP hops in the traces before and after SACS, and selected the IP closest to the destination as a point of comparison.

Using the RTTs from VPs toward IP hops from the traces pre and post-SACS, we plotted the box plots of Figure 2, clustering RTTs by continent and measurement platform.

sacs 3Figure 2 – Box plots of minimum RTTs from Ark and Atlas VPs to the common IP hops closest to the destination IPs. The red line of every box plot represents the median of these minimum RTTs; we marked the 75th and 25th percentile as well as the interquartile range (IQR).

 

What was the impact of SACS on latency?

Although the median latency across the whole dataset for paths crossing SACS post-launch did not change much (median RTT drops of 2-3ms); this hides significant decreases and increases in latency across paths from/to specific regions.

Interestingly, paths from South America experienced a median latency decrease of 38%, which was quite significant compared to paths from Oceania-Australia (8% decrease), and those from Africa (3%).

At the economic level, we found predictable performance improvements (RTT decrease) for paths going from Africa to Brazil, or from South America to Angola. However, we found an asymmetrical RTT reduction; the decrease of the median RTT from Africa to Brazil (73ms) was a third of that from South America to Angola (226ms). We also noted some unpredicted and unreported performance degradations. For example, we saw packets sub-optimally routed through SACS for paths going from North America to Brazil or Africa/Europe to Angola, leading to latency increases.

 

Comparing Transit Structure

We provide an in-depth inspection of the transit structure pre and post-SACS, an analysis of the impact on AS path lengths, and a validation of our results in the paper.

 

What are the contributions and key findings of this study?

In summary, the key contributions of this study can be listed as follows:

  • We introduced a reproducible method to investigate the impact of a cable deployment on macroscopic Internet topology and performance
  • We applied our methodology to the case of SACS, the first trans-Atlantic cable from South America to Africa
  • We discovered that the RTT decrease for IP paths going from Africa to Brazil was roughly a third of that noticed on paths from South America to Angola
  • Further, we discovered surprising performance degradations to/from some regions and analyzed the root-causes of these unintended consequences

From the findings of this paper, we suggest that to avoid suboptimal routing post-activation of cables in the future, ASes could inform BGP neighbours to allow time for changes, ensure optimal iBGP configurations post-activation, and use measurement platforms to verify path optimality.

Our code and data are published to facilitate reproducibility. This codebase can be extended to other cable use-cases.

 

 

This blog post has been republished from https://blog.apnic.net/2021/02/22/unintended-consequences-of-submarine-cable-deployment-on-internet-routing published in February 22, 2021. 

 

 


  

About the author

r fanou 1
Roderick Fanou 

After obtaining his PhD in Telematics Engineering from IMDEA Networks Institute and Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain in 2017, Roderick Fanou, joined CAIDA (University of California, San Diego), US in March 2018, where he worked as a Postdoctoral Scholar till March 2021. During his stay, he contributed to the MANIC and PANDA projects alongside Amogh Dhamdhere (in 2018) and Kc Claffy. His research activities involved assisting with the design and development of new applications as well as the integration of existing codebases that measure interdomain congestion, topology, and performance, for enabling large-scale scientific projects.

The study presented by this post is one of the outcomes of his collaboration with the CAIDA team.  

 

 

Last Modified on -
Date and time in Mauritius -