Info! Please note that this translation has been provided at best effort, for your convenience. The English page remains the official version.

دعم التنوع اللغوي من خلال نهج شامل داخل منطقة خدمة AFRINIC

تاريخ النشر
طباعة ودية، بدف والبريد الإلكتروني
دعم التنوع اللغوي من خلال نهج شامل داخل منطقة خدمة AFRINIC

 

af lok1تتمتع AFRINIC بعضوية ومجتمع متنوعين. على الرغم من أن اللغة الإنجليزية هي لغتنا الرسمية ، إلا أننا في صميمنا ندعم التنوع الثري والشمولية للغاتنا الإقليمية بدلاً من الاقتصار على لغات محددة فقط. على هذا المنوال ، أنشأنا برنامج تعريب المحتوى الخاص بنا والذي يهدف إلى الحصول على معلومات بعدة لغات أفريقية على موقعنا على الإنترنت. لقد بدأنا في دعم اللغتين العربية والفرنسية على موقعنا الرئيسي (https://afrinic.net) مع المزيد من اللغات القادمة.

 

أهمية توطين المحتوى عبر الإنترنت 

الفجوة اللغوية الرقمية وثيقة الصلة بمنطقتنا. تجادل منظمة اليونسكو بأن المتحدثين باللغات غير المهيمنة بحاجة إلى أن يكونوا قادرين على التعبير عن أنفسهم عبر الإنترنت بطرق ذات مغزى ثقافيًا ، وتحث الحكومات على تطوير سياسات شاملة متعلقة باللغة التي تدعم وتسهل التنوع اللغوي وتعدد اللغات عبر الإنترنت. ومع ذلك ، تقدم تقنيات الترجمة حلاً واحدًا لسد الفجوة اللغوية عبر الإنترنت. ندعوك لقراءة هذه القصة التي تسلط الضوء على دور توطين المحتوى في مساعدة الشركات في منطقتنا على النمو.

 

قصة السياق

دعم التنوع اللغوي من خلال نهج شامل داخل منطقة خدمة AFRINIC
أكيني رجل أعمال زراعي شاب من نيروبي نشأ في عائلة من المزارعين والمزارعين من قرية مجاورة. يستمتع عملاؤها بنضارة منتجاتها والقيم التي توفرها ، مثل الطلبات خارج الإنترنت أو عبر الإنترنت ، والدفع الإلكتروني وخدمات تتبع التسليم في الوقت الفعلي.

لم تستخدم أكيني اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة أولى لجميع العمليات التي تتم دون اتصال بالإنترنت. وبدلاً من ذلك ، قدمت أفضل مهاراتها في التواصل بين الأشخاص باستخدام اللغات المحلية. لم يكن ذلك مناسبًا لعملائها فحسب ، بل كان مناسبًا أيضًا لمورديها وشركاء الأعمال الآخرين الذين يفضلون التواصل بنفس الصياغة. لم تخضع قط لنظام تعليمي رسمي. ونتيجة لذلك ، فإن لغتها الإنجليزية المكتوبة والمنطوقة ليست جيدة كما يتوقع المرء من مشروعها الناجح. ومع ذلك ، كانت قدرتها على الاتصال بالإنترنت والقدرة على استخدام النظام عبر الإنترنت أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لنشاطها التجاري.

بعد إغلاق جائحة COVID-19 ، بدأت Akinyi العمل كمزود خدمة أساسي. ومع ذلك ، كان عليها إغلاق جميع منافذ بيعها المادية والاعتماد فقط على الخدمات عبر الإنترنت في 95٪ من عملياتها مع العملاء والشركاء.

لقد أدى الوباء بالفعل إلى قطع أكثر من نصف عملاء Akinyi والأهم من ذلك ، لم تنتعش الخدمات عبر الإنترنت. كان العديد من مخزونها من المنتجات الزراعية يصل إلى نهاية فترة التخزين. على الرغم من الإجهاد من جميع الجهات ، واصلت أكيني وفريقها العمل بصبر.

ومن ثم قرر فريق Akinyi تكييف وتعريب جميع خدماتهم عبر الإنترنت. تم ذلك أثناء تقييم استراتيجياتها لكيفية الحفاظ على صلة بالموضوع مع الاستمرار في توفير الكفاءة والقيم المذهلة لعملائها. أدت المبادرة إلى واجهة متعددة اللغات باللغة الأصلية مع العديد من التحسينات الأخرى.

بمرور الوقت ، دفعت جهود Akinyi الكثير ، ولاحظت تدريجياً أن الخدمات عبر الإنترنت تلتقط من حيث الطلبات والمدفوعات. أثناء استعراض تحليلات الخدمات ، تمكنت من معرفة كيفية أداء أنظمتها باللغات الأصلية مقارنة بواجهة اللغة الإنجليزية فقط.

 

بصفتها السجل الإقليمي للإنترنت للمنطقة الأفريقية ، اتخذت AFRINIC عدة خطوات لتقليص الفجوة الرقمية وتعزيز الشمولية في منطقتنا. تشمل بعض المبادرات الحالية ما يلي:

الخدمات الأساسية وبرامج البنية التحتية برامج البحوث إشراك المجتمع
برامج بناء القدرات والتدريب
   
     

 

محدد الخيارات AFRINIC متعدد اللغاتإذا كنت مهتمًا بمعرفة المزيد عن تجاربنا فيما يتعلق باستخدام التكنولوجيا والتحديات ومنحنيات التعلم مع هذا المشروع ، فاحترس من الأجزاء القادمة حيث سنرى كيف سيمكن برنامج توطين المحتوى الخاص بـ AFRINIC عضويتنا ومجتمعنا من المشاركة بنشاط في تطوير واستهلاك المحتوى عبر الإنترنت باللغات المحلية. 

  • الجزء 1 - دعم التنوع اللغوي داخل مجتمعنا من خلال نهج شامل - لماذا من المهم
  • الجزء 2 - دعم التنوع اللغوي داخل مجتمعنا من خلال نهج شامل - كيف فعلنا ذلك
  • الجزء 3 - دعم التنوع اللغوي داخل مجتمعنا من خلال نهج شامل - ما تم فعله وماذا بعد ذلك (ندوة عبر الإنترنت)

 

 


 

 

عن المؤلف

 

Duksh Koonjoobeeharry هو قائد فريق الويب في AFRINIC ، وهو المسؤول عن إدارة مجموعة مواقع الويب الخاصة بنا.

دوكش هو قائد فريق الويب في AFRINIC ، وهو المسؤول عن إدارة مجموعة مواقع الويب الخاصة بنا. لقد قام بتجربة تقنيات أتمتة وتوطين المحتوى على نطاق واسع منذ عام 2014 و منتدى أفضل الممارسات IGF حول خلق بيئة تمكينية لتطوير المحتوى المحلي لقد أدركت هذه المبادرة كخطوة مهمة لبناء القدرات وتعزيز توطين المحتوى في المنطقة.

 

 

 

آخر تعديل في -
التاريخ والوقت في موريشيوس -

Info! Please note that this translation has been provided as best effort, for your convenience. The English page remains the official version.

Supporting language diversity through an inclusive approach within the AFRINIC Service Region

Published On -
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Supporting language diversity through an inclusive approach within the AFRINIC Service Region

 

af lok1AFRINIC has a diverse membership and community. Even though English is our official language, we have at heart to support the rich diversity and inclusivity of our regional languages instead of being restricted to specific languages only. Along those lines, we have instituted our content localisation programme that aims to have information in several African languages on our website. We have started supporting Arabic and French on our main website (https://afrinic.net) with more languages coming up.

 

Importance of online content localisation 

The digital language divide is very pertinent in our region. Unesco argues that speakers of non-dominant languages need to be able to express themselves online in culturally meaningful ways, and urges governments to develop comprehensive language-related policies that support and facilitate online linguistic diversity and multilingualism. However, translation technologies offer one solution to bridging online language divides. We invite you to read this story that highlights how content localisation is helping businesses in our region grow.

 

Context story

Supporting language diversity through an inclusive approach within the AFRINIC Service Region
Akinyi is a young agri-entrepreneur from Nairobi who grew up in a family of farmers and planters from a nearby village. Her clients enjoy the freshness of her products and the values she provides, such as offline or online orders, e-payment and real-time delivery tracking services.

Akinyi did not use English as her first language for all the offline operations. Instead, she provided her best interpersonal communication skills using the local languages. That was not just convenient for her customers but also for her suppliers and other business partners who prefer to communicate in the same wording. She has never gone through a formal education system. Due to which her written and spoken English is not as good as one would expect from her successful enterprise. However, her ability to get online and be able to use the online system was crucial for her business.

Following the COVID-19 pandemic lockdown, Akinyi started operating as an essential service provider. Still, she had to close all her physical outlets and rely solely on the online services for 95% of her operations with the customers and partners.

The pandemic had already slashed more than half of Akinyi’s clients and to top it the online services were also not picking up. Several of her stock of agri-products were reaching the end of shelf time. Despite stress from all sides, Akinyi and her team continued to operate patiently.

Hence Akinyi’s team decided to adapt and localise all their online services. That was done while evaluating her strategies for how to stay relevant and still provide efficiency and incredible values to her customers. The initiative led to a native-first multilingual interface along with several other optimisations.

Over time, Akinyi’s effort paid much, and she gradually noticed the online services picking up in terms of orders and payments. While going through the services analytics, she could see how her systems were performing in the native languages compared to English only interface.

 

As the regional Internet registry for the African region, AFRINIC has taken several steps to reduce the digital divide and promote inclusiveness in our region. Some of the existing initiatives include:

Core services & Infrastructure Programmes Research Programmes Community Engagement
Capacity Building and Training Programmes
   
     

 

AFRINIC multi-lingual option selectorIf you are interested in learning further about our experiences in terms of the technology use, challenges and learning curves with this project, watch out for the upcoming parts where we shall see how AFRINIC’s content localisation programme will enable our membership and community to participate actively in developing and consuming online content in their local languages. 

  • Part 1 - Supporting language diversity within our community through an inclusive approach - Why it is important
  • Part 2 - Supporting language diversity within our community through an inclusive approach - How did we do it
  • Part 3 - Supporting language diversity within our community through an inclusive approach - What was done and what’s next (webinar)

 

 


 

 

About the author

 

Duksh Koonjoobeeharry is the Web Team Lead at AFRINIC, responsible for the management of our websites portfolio.

Duksh is the Web Team Lead at AFRINIC, responsible for the management of our websites portfolio. He has been experimenting with large scale content localisation and automation techniques since 2014 and the IGF Best Practice Forum on Creating an Enabling Environment for the Development of Local Content has recognised such an initiative as an important step for capacity building and promoting content localisation in the region.

 

 

 

Last Modified on -
Date and time in Mauritius -